The 40th Juried Annual exhibition takes place at the Miller Art Center in Sturgeon Bay from September 12 through November 3, 2015 with Reception & Awards taking place on Saturday, September 12, from 5:00-6:30 PM.The Wall by Myrna Leigh Cohn

I am delighted to announce that my oil/water painting entitled “The Wall” has won a spot among the juried selection. I invite you to join me at a a free reception scheduled to run from 5 – 6:30 p.m on Saturday, September 12.

The exhibition features works in a wide variety of media from artists living within the northeast Wisconsin counties of Brown, Door, Kewaunee, Manitowoc and Oconto. Works were selected to create a cohesive presentation from a total of 178 entries representing 98 local and regional artists.

“Work selected for inclusion in this year’s exhibit varies greatly in style and subject matter,” says Deborah Rosenthal, curator of exhibitions and collections. “They range from classical still life paintings evidenced by the work of Sarah Bradley and Criss Davis, abstract images by Brian Pirman and Stephanie Holznecht, a variety of approaches to landscape painting, distinctive uses of digital processes to create original artistic visions, and many other methods of communication of ideas and imagery. Overall, the exhibit is a good representation of the energy and wide ranging interests of the many artists working in northeast Wisconsin today,” she continued.

Every year the Miller Art Museum invites artists age 18 years and older residing in a five-county radius to submit up to two works in two-dimensional media. A jury of three artists and art professionals spend a day reviewing images of the submitted artwork. The jurors vary from year to year, and therefore the opportunity for an artist to be selected is renewed each year.

The jury for this year’s juried annual consisted of 3 artists: Shan Bryan-Hanson of Sturgeon Bay, painting faculty and Director and Curator of Art Galleries and Collections at St. Norbert College; Sally Everhardus of Fish Creek, artist and retired arts administrator; and William Greider of Oshkosh, art educator and printmaker.

“I looked for the artist’s personal voice, his or her unique way of seeing and interpreting the world,” stated Bryan-Hanson of the process. “Attention to craft and mastery of medium are also important since these are the tools that help transform ideas into material objects.”

Jurors also highly valued what Greider described as “strength in composition…does my eye flow through the work?”

Door County artists represented in the “40th Juried Annual” are Mitch Leavitt and Arlene Stanger of Baileys Harbor; Ginnie Cappaert, Dan Cross, Elizabeth J. Heller, and Dianne Saron of Egg Harbor; Rob Williams of Ellison Bay; Bruce Ambuel of Ephraim; Anne Kelly of Fish Creek; Sharon Auberle, Betsy Bunda-Ostran, Brigitte Kozma, Jim Leatham, and David Skidmore of Sister Bay; Sarah Bradley, W. Joseph Christiansen, Martha Coaty, Myrna Leigh Cohn, Luke Collins, Criss Davis, Karen DeNoto, Lynn Gilchrist, Roxanne Hanney, Frances Holt, Lauretta Kelley, Stephen Kelley, Will Roberts, Mac Schueppert, Madonna Siles, Hermke Timm, and Archelle “Buttons” Wolst of Sturgeon Bay; and David Heilman of Washington Island.

Additional artists exhibiting are Patricia Derozier, Bill Doyle, Tonya Kehler, Roberta Scherrer, Cynthia Tumpach of Green Bay; Stephanie Holznecht of Luxemburg, Brian Pirman and Marilyn F. Stasiak of DePere, Davida Schulman of New Franken; and Patricia A. Williams of Oconto.

The “40th Juried Annual” has been made possible in part by the museum’s sustaining members, John and Katherine Campbell, Herbert H. Kohl Charities, George and Kristi Roenning, and the MMG Foundation, Inc.

The exhibit will be on display through November 3, 2015. For more information, call 920.746.0707 or online at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email